Last updated
Indians get a visa on arrival in Dubai only if they also hold a valid US visa or green card, or a UK or EU residence visa, with at least 6 months left. That gives 14 days for AED 100, extendable once. The same papers, or a residence permit from Canada, Australia, Japan, South Korea, Singapore or New Zealand, also open a 60-day ICP visa for AED 350, applied for before you fly.
The two visas side by side
| 14-day visa | 60-day visa | |
|---|---|---|
| ICP fee | AED 100 | AED 250 plus AED 100 smart services |
| Where you get it | At arrival, or online before travel | Online before travel |
| Stay | 14 days | 60 days from entry |
| Entries | Not stated on the GDRFA page | Single entry |
| Extension | Once, same period | Not extendable |
| Must enter within | Not stated | 30 days of issue |
| Processing | 48 hours online (GDRFA) | 2 days (ICP) |
| Emirates price | US$63 | US$141.36 |
Source: GDRFA visa on arrival page for Indian citizens, ICP 60-day service page and ICP news of , Emirates visa page, checked .
Which documents count
The rule changed on . Before that date only US, UK and EU documents qualified. ICP then added six countries of residence and six more nationalities. For Indian citizens, ICP now lists:
- A valid visa, residence permit or green card issued by the US
- A valid visa or residence permit issued by an EU country
- A valid visa or residence permit issued by the UK
- A valid residence permit from Japan, South Korea, Australia, Canada, Singapore or New Zealand
Note the wording for the six newer countries: residence permit, not visitor visa. A Canadian or Australian tourist visa is not on the list.
GDRFA's older page for Indian citizens is narrower for the 14-day visa. It names a US visa or green card, or a UK or EU residence visa. GDRFA's newer page for residents abroad uses the ICP list. If your only document is a Schengen visit visa, the older GDRFA wording would not cover it, so ask before relying on it at the counter.
The UK question
In , Tribune India and Business Standard published reports that UK visas and residence permits no longer count for Indians on this route. When we read the official pages in , the ICP service page, ICP's own announcement and the Emirates visa page all still listed the UK. We go by the official pages. If you plan to rely on a UK document, confirm with ICP or your airline before you fly, and have a tourist visa as plan B.
At the airport
GDRFA issues the 14-day visa at arrival. Have your Indian passport and the original qualifying document in your hand. Both must still have 6 months left on the day you land.
Prefer certainty before boarding? GDRFA also issues the same 14-day visa online in advance, in about 48 hours, sent by email. Print it. Dubai airport runs random eye scans, and a visitor with no printed visa copy pays AED 30 for one.
The 60-day visa is never issued at the airport. ICP takes the application on its smart services or at its customer happiness centres, and you must land within 30 days of issue.
Staying longer than 14 days
You have three options before day 14:
- Extend once, for another 14 days. ICP lists AED 250 for this extension. GDRFA's page for extending a visa on arrival shows AED 600 plus 5% VAT. The two official pages differ, so confirm the fee when you file.
- Switch to a tourist visa inside the UAE. A new GDRFA tourist visa issued inside the country adds AED 500, plus AED 10 and AED 10.
- Leave on time. Every extra day costs AED 50.
The 60-day visa has no extension at all. Plan the return flight inside the 60 days. More on this in Dubai visa extension.
Family members
ICP's announcement says family members are eligible on the same conditions. So a spouse or child with their own qualifying US, UK, EU or other listed document can use the route too. A family member without one needs a normal tourist visa. Mixed families are covered on the Indian families page.
What Dubai agencies charge
We found no consistent published agency range for the 14-day or 60-day residence-abroad visa. For comparison, the standard 30-day tourist visa sells for about AED 340 to AED 800 at Dubai agencies (published prices of 8 agencies, checked ). The full fee list is on Dubai visa fees for Indians.
Documents checklist
- Ordinary Indian passport, at least 6 months left
- Your US visa or green card, UK or EU visa or residence, or listed residence permit, at least 6 months left
- Photo on a white background
- Printed e-visa, if you applied online
Why people get turned back
- US visa with 4 months left. The 6-month rule applies to it, not only the passport.
- A Canadian visitor visa. Canada counts only as a residence permit.
- Official or diplomatic passport. GDRFA's page names the ordinary passport.
- Expecting to extend the 60-day visa. ICP says it cannot be extended.
- Arriving after the 30-day window on the 60-day visa.
How it works with us
Send your Indian passport copy and a copy of the US, UK, EU or other visa or residence on WhatsApp, or use the form on this page. A visa adviser checks that both documents meet the 6-month rule and tells you whether the 14-day, the 60-day or a tourist visa suits your dates. You get one total price before you pay. Our team files the online visa and watches it to issue, then sends it by email. DubaiVisaDesk.com is a private visa service. ICP or GDRFA decides the visa.
If the authorities refuse it, they keep their fees. Your adviser states in writing, before payment, how much of our total, if any, you would get back after a refusal.
Official sources
- GDRFA visa on arrival for Indian citizens: documents, 14 days, one extension.
- GDRFA visa for residents outside the UAE: newer residence country list.
- ICP 60-day visa for residents abroad: fee, entry window, no extension.
- ICP announcement on wider eligibility: AED 100 and AED 250, family members.
- ICP visa extension: AED 250 for the 14-day visa.
- GDRFA extending a visa on arrival: AED 600 plus VAT.
- Emirates UAE visa information: airline prices and UK listing.



