Last updated
Golden visa renewal in the UAE follows the same terms as your first permit. GDRFA Dubai lists 48 hours and the same fee lines: AED 1,100 permit fee, AED 10 and AED 10 in Dirham fees, AED 20 delivery and AED 500 inside the country. ICP calls renewal automatic. You still need to meet your category, and students and investors face gaps in the official pages.
Start about two months before the expiry date. The permit lapses if it expires while you are abroad, and some categories need a fresh letter from a nominating body.
Renewal fees
| Fee line | GDRFA Dubai | ICP |
|---|---|---|
| Permit or renewal fee | AED 1,100 | AED 100 per year |
| Application | not listed | AED 100 |
| Smart service | not listed | AED 100 |
| Knowledge Dirham | AED 10 | not listed |
| Innovation Dirham | AED 10 | not listed |
| Inside the country | AED 500 | not listed |
| Delivery | AED 20 | not listed |
| Emirates ID | AED 100 per year plus AED 100 smart service | same |
Source: GDRFA golden residency renewal pages (entrepreneurs, talent, students, humanitarian, first line of defence), ICP residence renewal card and ICP Emirates ID card, checked .
GDRFA also says the fee rises by AED 100 a year for each year over two. It does not print a 10-year total. ICP's renewal card is a general residence card that does not name the golden permit, so treat its lines as a guide.
On the DLD property route, DLD publishes the issuance package (AED 9,884.75) but we found no official renewal figure. Ask the centre for the renewal price on your file.
What Dubai agencies charge
We found no published range for golden visa renewal from Dubai firms. For a first golden permit, the residence permit stage is listed at about AED 2,711.75 to AED 2,992.90 by Amer and typing centres, medical and Emirates ID extra (published prices of 2 Dubai centres, checked ). Renewal quotes are not the same thing, so ask for a written breakdown.
Who renews where
| Category | Dubai renewal page at GDRFA | Time |
|---|---|---|
| Entrepreneurs | yes | 48 hours |
| Talent (creatives, inventors, athletes, digital) | yes | 48 hours |
| Top students and graduates | yes, but see the conflict below | 48 hours |
| Humanitarian pioneers | yes | 48 hours |
| First line of defence | yes | 48 hours |
| Investors and property owners | none found | not stated |
| Skilled professionals | none found | not stated |
Source: GDRFA golden residency service list, checked .
If your category has no renewal page, file it the way you were first issued: DLD centres for property, GDRFA or Amer for the rest. Our golden visa processing time page lists the first-issue times.
The student renewal conflict
GDRFA's issuance page for top students says their golden permits "are not renewed after their expiration" and calls them "non-extendable". GDRFA also lists a service called "Golden residency permit renewal (Top students, graduates)". On top of that, ICP says golden residence renews automatically.
If you got your golden visa on grades, assume renewal may be refused. A year before expiry, check if you now fit another route, such as the AED 30,000 salary route for skilled professionals. If you were a school student sponsoring your parents, their permits depend on yours too.
Documents checklist
- Passport valid for the renewal, and your current golden residence and Emirates ID.
- Property owners: current title deed and, for a mortgaged unit, an updated bank no-objection letter.
- Deposit investors: bank certificate showing AED 2,000,000 still held.
- Skilled professionals: a recent salary certificate showing AED 30,000 or more, and bank statements with the salary transfers.
- Talent and frontline holders: a recommendation from the nominating body or government agency. Inventors add a patent that adds value to the national economy.
- Health insurance for you and each family member.
When renewal goes wrong
- The condition has gone. A sold property, a withdrawn deposit or a salary under AED 30,000 means you no longer qualify. GDRFA cancels a skilled permit once the salary drops.
- Expired abroad. GDRFA says the permit is void if it expires while you are outside the UAE.
- Family left behind. Sponsored family permits are renewed on your file. Renew yours first, then theirs. See golden visa for family.
- Grace period misread. ICP and the GDRFA golden renewal pages say 180 days. The general GDRFA cancellation page says 60. After the grace period, ICP charges an overstay fine of AED 50 per day.
How it works with us
Send a copy of your golden residence, passport and Emirates ID on WhatsApp, or fill in the form on this page. A visa adviser reads your category and checks the proof you will need this time, including whether a new nomination letter is due. You get one total price, confirmed on WhatsApp before you pay. The team files the renewal with GDRFA, ICP or the DLD centre, answers any query on the file, and then renews the Emirates ID and your family's permits in the right order. DubaiVisaDesk.com is a private visa service. GDRFA, ICP and DLD decide every renewal.
If a renewal is refused, the authorities do not return their fees. Before you pay, your adviser puts in writing which part of the total, if any, you get back in that case.
Official sources
- ICP Golden Residency guide: automatic renewal wording. Checked .
- GDRFA renewal for entrepreneurs and for talent: same terms, fee lines, 48 hours.
- GDRFA renewal for students and the student issuance page: the renewal conflict.
- GDRFA renewal for first line of defence: documents.
- ICP renewal card: general renewal fee lines.
- ICP Emirates ID card: card fees.



